To: The UT Dallas Academic Senate

From: Paul Pantano, Chair, Institutional Biosafety and Chemical Safety (IBCS) Committee

Topic: Annual Report for 2015 - 2016

Membership: Paul Pantano (chair), Lloyd Lumata (vice-chair), John Burr, Jason Slinker, Jon Poloski, Heng Du, Shane Solis, Kathy White, David Liner, James Pharr, and Bill Alsup (City of Richardson).

Meetings: The regularly scheduled monthly meetings of the IBCS Committee are the first Wednesdays of each month. In the present cycle we have met 8 times, and our next meeting is scheduled for July 6, 2016.

Actions Taken: The main thing we do as a committee is to review, discuss, and approve IBCS Protocols submitted by research professors. In the present cycle, we have reviewed and approved ~20 protocols and renewals. We also receive updates for many items planned for implementation by the Office of Research Compliance and the Office of Environmental Health & Safety and Risk Management, and we get to offer advice to help these offices move forward with their agendas (e.g., the creation of a particularly hazardous chemical list).

Recommendations for the following year: None, James Pharr manages these meetings quite well and minimizes busy work for the professors and professionals such that they can direct their energies towards providing sound scientific advice.