TO: The Academic Senate

From: Michele Hanlon

Chair, Campus Facilities Committee

Subject: Annual Report of Campus Facility Committee, 2016 – 2017

I. Membership

The membership of the Campus Facilities Committee consists of: Michele Hanlon, Chair, Christopher Camacho, Ernest Hanning, Lucien Thompson, Dean Dennis Kratz, Dean Mark Sprong, James Harrington, John Cruz (student), Matt Grief (ex-officio), Patrice Holt (ex-officio), Ellen Safley (ex-officio)

Other ex-officio: Executive Vice President, Provost, Senior Director of Research Compliance, Assistant Vice President of Environmental Health and Safety, Director of Media Services, Assistant Vice President of Auxiliary Services, Associate Vice President for Business Affairs.

RUO - Vice President for Administration

II. Meetings

May 5, 2017: Orientation and introduction of new members. We discussed updates for the past year with regard to university growth, building facilities, sustainability, and security.

July 2017 (TBD): Upcoming – discussion and planning for SEC event.

III. Actions Taken

The Committee agreed to take part in a Service Excellence Campaign (SEC), designed to inform and educate the university community regarding the work done by facilities related services. The Committee will partner with the Office of Administration and Student Life services during welcome week. Planning for this event will be finalized during the Campus Facilities July 2017 meeting.

IV. Recommendations for Following Year

Engage the committee membership in the work done by facilities by educational contact with various facilities component directors.

Develop outreach to students, staff, and faculty regarding campus improvement needs.

Develop outreach to students, staff, and faculty via information and education re facilities operations at UTD.

V. Notes, Commentary, Supporting Documentation

Agenda for meeting on May 5, 2017:

<u>Campus Facilities Committee Meeting Agenda: "One Campus. Our Campus"</u> <u>Friday, May 5, 2017 – Happy Cinco de Mayo!</u> <u>3:00 – 4:00pm</u>

- I. Introductions
- II. Campus Updates Dr. Calvin Jamison
- III. Sustainability Thea Hunt
- IV. Service Excellence Campaign Michele Hanlon
- V. Subsequent Meeting Dates
- VI. Open Discussion
- VII. Adjourn